40 Regional Finalists Named in this Year's Metrobank Foundation Search for Outstanding Teachers

After receiving 284 nominations of teachers nationwide, the Metrobank Foundation has released the list of the regional finalists who will compete in the  semi-final judging in the 2012 Metrobank Foundation’s Search for  Outstanding Teachers. The 40 regional finalists will be trimmed down to 20 national finalists who will face the Final Board of Judges representing different sectors on July 18-20, 2012.

The list of regional finalists is composed of  8 teachers in the tertiary, 16 in the secondary, and 16 in the elementary levels. Each will be interviewed by the preliminary board of judges and will  conduct a teaching demonstration of their respective teaching competencies.

Now on its 28th year, the Search honors the teaching profession, recognizing those who exhibit competence, remarkable dedication to their work, and effective educational leadership, as well as their various community involvements.  In 2010, the Search has been awarded the Grand Anvil, the highest recognition during the 45th Anvil Awards given by the Public Relations Society of the Philippines (PRSP). Over the years, the Search has become a sought-after award among educators as it earned the prestige of becoming a benchmark of excellence in the teaching profession. To date, the Search has produced 306 outstanding teachers, among them pillars in the academe, who continue to excel in their respective fields. 

List of Regional Finalists:


Mrs. Sheila M. Salangsang, Gen. Maximo Hizon Elementary School, Tondo, Manila
Mrs. Narcisa F. Alacapa, Comembo Elementary School, Comembo, Makati City
Mrs. Guy Lyn C. Abella, Center for Excellence in Public Elementary School (CENTEX-Manila), Tondo, Manila

Ms. Marettie B. Dela Cuesta, Sta. Lucia High School, Novaliches, Quezon City
Mr. Bonifacio D. Caculitan, Jr. Ernesto Rondon High School, Project 6, Quezon City
Mr. Galcoso C. Alburo, Concepcion Integrated School, Concepcion I, Marikina City

Higher Education
Dr. Catherine P. Vistro-Yu, Ateneo de Manila University, Loyola Heights, Quezon City
Dr. Marilyn U. Balagtas, Philippine Normal University, Taft Avenue, Manila
Prof. Emerita R. Rotor, University of the Philippines-Manila, Ermita, Manila


Mr. Marcelo T. Otinguey, Ampusongan National High School, Bakun, Benguet


Mr. Melba N. Paz, Bacnotan National High School, Bacnotan, La Union
Mr. Jaime D. Campos, Jr., Sinait National High School, Sinait, Ilocos Sur



Dr. Marlina G. Jimenez, Bintawan North Elementary School, Villaverde, Nueva Vizcaya



Dr. Roberto D. Santos, Jr., Sta. Rita Elementary School, Capas, Tarlac
Mr. Allan Moore S. Cabrillas, San Jose West Central School, San Jose City, Nueva Ecija


Mr. Arnel Jonjon F. Tipay, Tarlac National High School, San Roque, Tarlac City
Mr. Ariel T. Perez, Francisco G. Nepomuceno Memorial High School, Angeles City

Dr. Lino L Dizon, Tarlac State University, Tarlac City
Dr. Tereso A. Abella, Central Luzon State University, Science City of Muñoz, Nueva Ecija



Mrs. Edna R. Soriano, Guinayangan Elementary School, Guiyangan, Quezon
Mr. Rizal M. Vidallo, Anabu II Elementary School, Imus, Cavite
Ms. Aleli S. Toledo, Dasmariñas Elementary School, Dasmariñas City, Cavite
Mrs. Josephine P. Canlas, Imus Pilot Elementary School, Imus, Cavite


Mrs. Eliaquim A. Bisa, Cavite National Science High School, Maragondon, Cavite
Mr. Rene L. Portades, Gumaca National High School, Gumaca, Quezon

Higher Education

Dr. Olex B. Yllano, Adventist University of the Philippines, Silang, Cavite



Ms. Mariam B. Rivamonte, Santa Cruz South Central School, Santa Cruz, Marinduque
Mrs. Adeline G. Francisco, Bayanan II Elementary School, Calapan City



Mrs. Cynthia F. Balaguer, Albay Central School, Legaspi City
Mr. Leopoldo C. Brizuela, Jr., Ligao National High School, Ligao City

Mr. Mel T. Pallada, Kalibo Pilot Elementary School, Kalibo, Aklan
Mrs. Nueva P. Mangaoang, Man-it Integrated School, Passi City


Mr. Fernan P. Tupas, Ajuy National High School, Ajuy, Iloilo

Higher Education

Dr. Hilda C. Montaño, West Visayas State University, Iloilo City


Mrs. Yvonne M. Esperas, Philippine Science High School-Eastern Visayas Campus, Palo, Leyte

Mrs. Lorna L. Tumampil, Iligan City East High School, Iligan City

Dr. Annie I. Rodriguez, Philippine Science High School-Southern Mindanao Campus, Davao City
Higher Education

Prof. Sylvia B. Concepcion, University of the Philippines-Mindanao, Davao City


Ms. Edna B. Hatague, J. Marquez Elementary School of Peace, Cotabato City
Mrs. Marivi L. Castro, General Santos City Special Education Integrated School, General Santos City

* * * * *

The Metrobank Foundation, the corporate social responsibility arm of the Metrobank Group, was established by its Chairman Dr. George S.K. Ty in 1979. With the theme “Excel. Engage. Empower.”, the Foundation has promoted a culture of excellence among Filipinos through its various programs, such as the Search for Outstanding Teachers (SOT), the Metrobank Art & Design Excellence (MADE), the Search for The Outstanding Philippine Soldiers (TOPS), the Search for the Country’s Outstanding Policemen in Service (COPS), the Metrobank Math Challenge (MMC), College Scholarship Program (CSP) and Excellence in Judiciary Program (EJP). It also supports social development projects through like-minded organizations that have sought to uplift the lives of the disadvantaged groups and marginalized sectors in the society. “Converging to Inspire Change!” serves as the battlecry of the Foundation this year.  After 33 years, it shall continue to uphold values of excellence and champion its chosen stakeholders and the rest of our communities. It aims to strength ties with institutional partners in both public and private sectors such that there will always be a venue to further honor those who are able to reach their highest potential. Today, the Foundation remains steadfast in its commitment to remain a leader in corporate social responsibility by initiating and supporting leading edge programs that uplift the lives of our people and inspire the best in the Filipinos.